Castle Town Matsumoto

Japanese Culture Experience Days

Join us for an immersive experience in Matsumoto City! This year, there are 12 chances to try a wide range of different cultural activities.

Where: Nakamachi Street, Matsumoto City, Nagano Prefecture
Dates: Aug 5, 2019 (Mon), Sep 10, 2019 (Tue), Sep 24, 2019 (Tue), Oct 8, 2019 (Tue), Oct 29, 2019 (Tue), Nov 12, 2019 (Tue), Dec 10, 2019 (Tue), Jan 21, 2020 (Tue), Jan 31, 2020 (Fri), Feb 18, 2020 (Tue), Mar 3, 2020 (Tue), Mar 10, 2020 (Tue)
Time: 10 A.M. to 5 P.M.
What: Make your own unique items to take home, try wearing traditional Japanese clothing, and experience other Japanese traditions like tea ceremony and flower arrangement.
Price: Varies by activity

For specific details on the activities being offered, including max. participants and prices, please see the program flier of October, November and December .

Those who participate in the experiences will receive a coupon for a 5% discount at various stores on Nakamachi Street (good for 6 days).

Handicrafts (origami accessories, hairpins, badges, baskets, miniature wrapping cloth, wreaths, etc.) along with kendama, spinning tops, and fans are on sale at the plaza in front of the building. You can also participate in a painting experience for kendama, spinning tops, and fans.

You can also participate in a drawing for goods, or painting experiences for kendama, spinning tops, and fans.

Relax with a refreshing drink as you take in Japanese culture with the on-site food truck selling original Nakamachi drinks such as sake, amazake (a sweet, fermented rice drink) and coffee.

Handicrafts for sale.
Enjoy refreshing, original beverages.
Kendama, spinning top, and fan painting.